Artwork credit: Gericault De La Rose, In Between, 2022

SOMArts is proud to partner with the San Francisco Foundation to present the 2022 Murphy and Cadogan Contemporary Art Awards Exhibition, a focused look at the future of the Bay Area visual arts, on view September 10–October 7, 2022. Made possible by the San Francisco Foundation and its donors, we’re excited to feature promising visual artists working across disciplines and identifying young artists from Master of Fine Arts programs throughout the Bay Area whose work intersects with emerging trends.

The Jack K. and Gertrude Murphy Award is given to an MFA student of unusual caliber with great artistic promise. Edwin Anthony and Adalaine Boudreaux Cadogan both experienced financial challenges as art students and understood the great difference scholarships can make in the early phase of an artist’s career. The winners of the Murphy and Cadogan scholarships each receive support for their MFA studies. All the students benefit from participation in a professionally curated exhibition at SOMArts Cultural Center and mentorship from curator Kevin B. Chen.

Murphy Award
Gericault De La Rose, University of California Berkeley

Cadogan Award
Irma Yuliana Barbosa, University of California Berkeley
Carolina Cuevas, California College of the Arts
Dance Doyle, California College of the Arts
Eniola Fakile, University of California Berkeley
Rachell Hester, San Jose State University
Thad Higa, Mills College
Tina Kashiwagi, Stanford University
Charles H. Lee,III, California College of the Arts
Philippa Renshaw, San Francisco State University
Tiare Ribeaux, University of California Berkeley
Maryam Safanasab, San Francisco State University
Jake Shapiro, San Francisco State University

Curated by
Kevin B. Chen

Virtual Gallery